In 1796, Jacob Petrus of Hamadan, Persia, better known as Hakob Hamadanchi, erected a church in the name of the St. Apostle Peter.
This old church in the Fort area is no more in existence and a much larger church was erected in Meadows Street. This church is compact with an adjoining parsonage. There are a number of epitaphs written in Armenian which adorn its floor making it a unique mosaic of inscriptions.
Gradually the church decayed and was replaced by a new and beautiful one in 1957 on the plot of the old church. It was designed by Mr. M.H. Altounian, a well-known Armenian architect of Beirut. The foundation stone was blessed by His Grace Archbishop Yeghishe Derderian of Jerusalem during his visit to Mumbai in June 1956 along with Rev. Father Shahe Ajemian. The new church was consecrated on 14th April 1957 by His Grace Bishop Terenik Poladian. A six storied building, which is now the property of the church, was built in front of it and named ‘Ararat.’ In March 3, 2007, His Holiness Karekin II, Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians, visited the church. Recently by blessings of His Holines St. Peter’s Armenian Church and the Ararat building were renovated by the Trusts of the Armenian Holy Church of Nazareth, India, Kolkata and with the noble efforts of Mr. Sunil Sobti and Mrs. Susan Ruben in the year 2016.